Helen, Angel (1996) : 3 : Past Productions : 9

Helen, Angel (1996)

A programme of two thematically connected pieces; Helen, a duet based on the seduction and abduction of Helen of Troy, and Angel, a work for four men and one women inspired by the music of Nirvana.

‘Helen is a tense damaged lovers duet to Bartok violin. Angel gives us a vagrants yard, firelit and subliminally violent, The sound is mostly deafening, sandpaper rubbed on the inner ear; a Haydn piano adagio breaks in, the dossers spread a white cloth, fruit and bottles – they become a Glyndbourne picnic. This is rudely shattered by jerking guitars and a crude beating… Watching a brief dance phrase between the girl and one of the men, the penny drops: the lovers of ‘Helen’ may have been these two. Mark Bruce has made his mark, no doubt about it.‘ The Daily Telegraph.

‘A talent to watch.’ The Guardian

Dancers: Joanne Fong, Darren Ellis, Stephen Berkeley-White, Greig Cooke, Rick Bland
Music: Bela Bartok sonata for solo violin, Theo Abaziz composition for solo cello, Joseph Haydn piano adagio, Nirvana.
Design: Joanne Fong
Light: Alan Burgess

Sign Up to the Mark Bruce Company mailing list